Experience Grožnjan


Ever since it was first mentioned in the deed of gift of Marquis Ulrich II to the Patriarch of Aquileia in 1102, Castrum Grisinianum has always been an urban centre with environs rich in vineyards, olive groves and orchards. The valley of the River Mirna and the port of Baštija, which no longer exists, connected the town to the rest of the world.

Serving as a stronghold, Grožnjan was inhabited during the time of the Roman Empire. Archaeological finds, mosaic fragments, and coins found provide evidence of this, as well as toponyms such as Roman Peak. It is also known that Grožnjan was inhabited in the Neolithic, when it was a hill-fort. Even today, the surrounding landscape is dotted with the remains of strongholds of the Ancient Histrians.

Enclosed in walls, Grožnjan once had two gates. Only the larger of the two, which also had a drawbridge, can be seen today. On the site of the smaller gate, there still stands a Venetian column. This spot provides the loveliest view of some 20 neighbouring villages of central Istria.